Modern Wushu (Sport Wushu)

In Wushu on

Modern Wushu (Sport Wushu) is divided into two categories : Taolu (routines) and Sanda (free fighting).

Taolu (routines)

Taolu is the set routine practice of Wushu. A Taolu routine consists of a set of choreographed moves based on Traditional Wushu techniques. Athletes perform Taolu routines either barehanded or with weapons. There are several categories in a competition : individual routines, partner/duel routines and also group routines.   Performance is judged by the execution of the routine according to quality of movements, overall performance and degree of difficulty of the movements. Taolu competitions are divided into 3 groups :

1. Changquan (Long fist)
An external martial art derived from the various martial art styles from Northern China (north of the Yangtze River) such as Shaolin Quan, Cha Quan, Hong Quan, Hua Quan, Fanzi Quan and Pao Chui. Changquan comprises long, fully extended stances, open postures, aerial acrobatics and high speed moves. Generally, there is an emphasis on leg techniques in Changquan as the saying goes Southern Fist, Northern Leg (nanquan beitui).

2. Nanquan (Southern Fist)
An external martial art derived from the various martial art styles from Southern China (south of the Yangtze River) such as Hung Ga, Wing Chun, Wuzu Quan and Mok Ga. Nanquan is defined by a low stance with a focus on extensive arm strikes and a vocal articulation called fasheng ( ). Power is derived from the sharp waist  movements to generate speed and momentum in the arms. Nanquan is a fierce, energetic style with few acrobatic stunts because the emphasis is on stability and a solid grounded stance.

3. Tai Chi Quan (Supreme Ultimate Fist)
Originally created as a martial art, Tai Chi Quan is an internal martial art practiced worldwise for its numerous health benefits and self-defence techniques. Tai Chi Quan utilises the philosophy of Yin Yang and the Five Elements as a foundation to the practice. Tai Chi Quan is defined by its slow, graceful movements coupled with explosive bursts of force. The practice enhances a sense of peace and harmony of body, mind and spirit in the practitioner.

Sanda (free fighting)
Sanda is an unarmed combat sport developed from Traditional Wushu. Originally devised by the Chinese Nationalist Party in the 1920’s, Sanda is used to train the Chinese military for close combat and to ensure physical fitness. Sanda competitions take place on an elevated platform called the “Lei Tai” where 2 opponents try to score points by kicking, punching, wrestling and throwing one another. Competing athletes wear protective gear such as headguard, mouthguard, chest protector, jockstrap and gloves. Allowed striking areas are the head, trunk (chest, back and abdomen) as well as the legs.

We offer Tai Chi and Wushu classes in Petaling Jaya and Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Contact us at 012-2211430 or email us at for more details.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *